Welcome and happy reading!

Since, like anyone else, I receive tons of scam emails and snail mail letters, I decided to present here some of these. All of these (and many more which I just delete) are scams. This means, what the senders have in mind is to racket one of us. And according to what I've seen, they do succeed quite often.

If you have similar letters in your mailbox, either disregard or play with the person knowing that you can't give him (or her) any information about:

  1. Your bank account,
  2. Your address — or any valid address if that matter,
  3. Your family, and
  4. any other information that you judge private or even intimate.

Ha! I say "Your"... even if you don't like your neighbor at all, don't give his information either. The Internet leaves tracks (hackers in the US are being caught one after another!) and you would certainly be in even bigger trouble.

In the meantime, I hope you will enjoy reading these letters as I do myself once in a while. 8-)I do not always add comments with the letters since I usually don't have time to do so, but there would often be a lot of joke to tell!

Soap Bubbles


Latest Scams
  • Last update: 01/15/2014

    Today I received this spam email. In itself it was a safe one. That is, it was not a person trying to steal directly from my bank account. Just totally unwanted advertising.

    However, what I found rather interesting is the fact that the person created an HTML form to show a link. « So what? » will you ask... Well... When you put your mouse over a link, you expect to see the destination in your status bar at the bottom (I'd hope you do such thing, you don't?!) However, a button in a form does not show you any links. You have to read the HTML if you want to know the ...

  • Last update: 01/03/2014

    Had to put this one here!

    Look at that... They put a picture from Bing Earth or whatever that stuff is called (I never use Bing...) and that is to show me where the user who accessed by account with Firefox was at the time of the attack.

    I wonder how many people fell for it. Hay! The banner at the top is real. It comes straight from Bank of America's website.

    ¨We'll help you secure your Account¨

    Return-Path: <info@mail.com>
    X-Original-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Delivered-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Received: from tbjjbihbhfbcc.turbo-smtp.net (tbjjbihbhfbcc.turbo-smtp.net ...
  • Last update: 08/13/2017

    Hmmm... We have a contact form on our main business website and we received this spam email today. I'm not too sure what that accomplishes, really. Okay, it includes a link and maybe the sender was hoping for a reaction so we'd click on it. But really... read that email, it's just too funny.

    Return-Path: <www-data@mail.m2osw.com>
    X-Original-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Delivered-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Received: by mail.m2osw.com (Postfix, from userid 33)
        id 38C6BCE22D7; Tue, 22 Oct 2013 08:18:22 -0700 (PDT)
    To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Subject: [Contact] One ...

  • Last update: 10/12/2013

    This is a first on my end. An actual Drug Dealer who contacts me to offer his dirty money upon his death. He! He! That happens every day, right.

    The email address was nicely formatted (proper mouse cursor & text color!) Surprising!

    Return-Path: <nolangreen@hotmail.com>
    X-Original-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Delivered-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Received: from hdcpartners.com (mail.hdcpartners.com [])
        by mail.m2osw.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 6E0FBCE2279
        for <alexis@m2osw.com>; Sat, 12 Oct 2013 05:49:45 -0700 (PDT)
    Received: from skozzy ([] RDNS ...
  • Last update: 07/06/2017
    There is a new one. This is from a French company if we believe the signature at the bottom (Saint Ouen) that is attempting to sell us extra domain names just because. I have had spontaneous renewal warnings and offers to get hosting or websites, but I don't recall a consolidation before. That's funny though because I purchase my domains via GoDaddy.com and they should know that GoDaddy.com already offers you to purchase all the .net, .org, .lol, etc. so if someone was to do that, they'd do it then, wouldn't they?!
  • Last update: 05/11/2013

    "La garde des contacts" -- mise à part que je n'ai jamais entendu cette expression (peut-être est-ce Canadien?! Ha! Ha!), il me semble que s'il s'agit du tout première message entre nous, dire que garder contact est important me semble un peu prémature, non?!

    And of course, I do want to talk with someone named "CRUELLE"... 8-)

    Return-Path: <riccardo.narcisi@alice.it>
    X-Original-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Delivered-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Received: from smtp303.alice.it (smtp303.alice.it [])
        by mail.m2osw.com ...
  • Last update: 03/31/2014

    This one is quite interesting...

    The subject is in French.

    The From is in English.

    The email content is in Italian.

    Who the hell is not going to notice that?!

  • Last update: 09/30/2012

    Got this one today. I thought to myself... "it means your email address is about to be deactivated" That would be great! I wouldn't receive over 1,000 messages of spam a day anymore (think about it: nearly 400,000 messages a year!)

  • Last update: 11/23/2014

    Isn't it ironic that someone would send you an email to tell you that your email account is currently blocked... cheeky

  • Last update: 08/30/2011

    I like this one... the guy's name is Babar. I know it's a real African name, but because of the movie with Babar the elephant, I find it funny.

    One surprising comment in this email:

    Extend my greetings to your family.

    Usually they ask you to be hyper ultra discrete with these matters... Anyway, I let everyone know that I'll get my share very soon and that Pat Babar is saying hi...