Welcome and happy reading!

Since, like anyone else, I receive tons of scam emails and snail mail letters, I decided to present here some of these. All of these (and many more which I just delete) are scams. This means, what the senders have in mind is to racket one of us. And according to what I've seen, they do succeed quite often.

If you have similar letters in your mailbox, either disregard or play with the person knowing that you can't give him (or her) any information about:

  1. Your bank account,
  2. Your address — or any valid address if that matter,
  3. Your family, and
  4. any other information that you judge private or even intimate.

Ha! I say "Your"... even if you don't like your neighbor at all, don't give his information either. The Internet leaves tracks (hackers in the US are being caught one after another!) and you would certainly be in even bigger trouble.

In the meantime, I hope you will enjoy reading these letters as I do myself once in a while. 8-)I do not always add comments with the letters since I usually don't have time to do so, but there would often be a lot of joke to tell!

Soap Bubbles


Latest Scams
  • Last update: 12/23/2017

    So... particularly important: this is LEGITIMATE AND LEGAL. I'm glad this Mr Peter told me that because I had a doubt for a minute. cheeky

    Now... this is a new one. Someone managing a fund with an excess of 1.2%. Hmmm... so they knew how much that fund had to produce and stole the cream at the top?! Never heard of that in the financial community. Maybe I'm a bit misinformed.

    Please be careful out there!

    Return-Path: <SRS0+Wy6b=DU=gmail.com=aturnerr1976@m2osw.com>
    X-Original-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Delivered-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    X-Greylist: delayed 3225 seconds by postgrey-1.35 ...
  • Last update: 12/19/2017

    Fun one.

    So this guy installed some malware on my computer and he has tons of pics and videos that he had a really hard time to gather, as I could imagine (yes, read the email below!) and if I don't pay him $350 he's going to email that data to all my contacts.

    I wonder how many people receiving such threat will fall for it. Especially because sending screenshots is not going to make it more believable that it is indeed my computer that he took the footage from. There are literally billions of people with similar computers?!

    Not only that, many people receive emails with stuff like ...

  • Last update: 11/26/2017

    Okay, you're going to tell me, this is just yet another Bank Account phishing scam... you're right.

    Only this one is laughable because... of this line:


    How often would a bank hide its phone number?! Don't want me to ever call you??? Ha! Ha! Stupid scammer.

    Frankly, just check online for a number and stick it in there. People are not going to use that number anyway (unless they're real idiots) because they should directly call using the number on the back of their ATM or Credit Card. Not from some email phone number that could have been tempered with.

  • Last update: 11/22/2017

    This one is really good, the email is a really nice looking invoice so you probably would think, what the heck?!

    One big mistake, though: the scammer put 342 in the subject and 51 in the email. Obviously, they need to get their system screwed right. wink


    That being said, the point here is to get the people to open the .zip attached to the file because, well... maybe it will answer the question of: What the heck is that invoice? Right? Of course, that's a virus. Well... I did not try to open it, it's a word document, it may have a macro or a link back to a website where you'll ...

  • Last update: 11/24/2017

    A couple of days ago, I received a contact from Realtor.com. What they do is make sure that a cell phone and an email address get registered. The cell phone is simple, they just send a code via a message and if you can enter the code in your website, the phone is considered validated. The email address, same thing, they send you a link you have to follow and that will make it think you own that email account.

    So in itself, that won't really prevent a scammer from using the system.

    This is what the message said:

       "I'm interested in 2104 University Park Dr, ...

  • Last update: 10/04/2017

    So... this one I put here because the subject is like a book and I thought that was very funny. I'd bet many mail clients cannot even display that subject!

    The rest of the email was formatted properly, although obviously the content... the English... you know...

    X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
    X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
    Return-Path: <SRS0+W6t3=BE=alice.it=luca.salvetti@m2osw.com>
    X-Original-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Delivered-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Received: from smtp301.alice.it ...
  • Last update: 08/03/2017

    So... I'm in Real Estate now and there is a nice letter I received today. It's supposed to be legalize which I'm sure some people would take to the letter. It's really badly written though!

    Oh and the point of this email is to send you to an account on DropBox where there is a zip file for you to download. I would imagine that this zip file has some kind of virus (trojan) which is the fun part, right?


    X-Original-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Delivered-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    X-Greylist: delayed 450 ...
  • Last update: 07/17/2017

    Now I'm a rich actor! I'll be making $160,000 for this movie as they put my picture on it. Ain't that beautiful?!

    X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
    X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
    Return-Path: <SRS0+0Pqu=6V=ron.mil.pl=m.piaskowska@m2osw.com>
    X-Original-To: Jonie_Whishaw@m2osw.com
    Delivered-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    X-Greylist: delayed 339 seconds by postgrey-1.35 at m2osw.com; Tue, 18 Jul 2017 03:15:08 UTC
    DMARC-Filter: OpenDMARC Filter v1.3.1 m2osw.com DC8223F50A
    Authentication-Results: ...
  • Last update: 06/06/2017

    These days, I'm receiving requests about invoices. People want to pay me but my invoice has a problem/concern.

    The fact is that the invoice is a PDF document with a link to a hacker's website where you'll be asked to enter various credential. Their code may also attempt various XSS attacks or similar things.

    If you get those, opening the PDF is most probably safe, but following the link is not.

    Return-Path: <SRS0+0UFE=5L=hotmail.com=Jonie_Whishaw@m2osw.com>
    X-Original-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Delivered-To: alexis@m2osw.com
    Received: from ...
  • Last update: 10/18/2016

    I thought this one scam was particularly good! As if I were under a real attack instead of the usual bullshit emails I get: very badly written, not correctly target, etc.

    In this email the user wants me to open an attachment, which would likely do nothing to my computer since I have Linux, but it is still very persuasive. Now the attachment may actually be totally safe to look at, it may just include a link to a website where they will charge my credit card and bye bye to your money!

    In any event, this is quite some progress from the usual scam.

    Return-Path: ...