Welcome and happy reading!

Since, like anyone else, I receive tons of scam emails and snail mail letters, I decided to present here some of these. All of these (and many more which I just delete) are scams. This means, what the senders have in mind is to racket one of us. And according to what I've seen, they do succeed quite often.

If you have similar letters in your mailbox, either disregard or play with the person knowing that you can't give him (or her) any information about:

  1. Your bank account,
  2. Your address — or any valid address if that matter,
  3. Your family, and
  4. any other information that you judge private or even intimate.

Ha! I say "Your"... even if you don't like your neighbor at all, don't give his information either. The Internet leaves tracks (hackers in the US are being caught one after another!) and you would certainly be in even bigger trouble.

In the meantime, I hope you will enjoy reading these letters as I do myself once in a while. 8-)I do not always add comments with the letters since I usually don't have time to do so, but there would often be a lot of joke to tell!

Soap Bubbles


Latest Scams
  • Last update: 03/06/2018

    Not too sure what people can do with an access to NetSpend since as far as I can tell, they would not transfer money from your NetSpend account to someone "random". But maybe the person can enter oneself as a company which is to be paid some money and just send a check... which means we'll know his/her address. And if it's overseas, it's quite unlikely that it will work. The other thing would be identity theft... Anyway, hopefully they don't show the SSN of their users anywhere!

    Received:		from snap.turnwatcher.com
    			by substitute with [XMail 1.22 ESMTP ...
  • Last update: 10/31/2009

    This is really becoming sad. Now here they are telling you that kids need to be adopted and if you get them, you'll get close to 1 million dollars... All of that to get your money. Hmmmm....

  • Last update: 12/27/2018

    A few days ago, I got this letter from TMWorldwide and I think I did not even read it. Anyway, it is in regard to getting my trademark registered worldwide, I guess. Ah! Now I wrote the transcript. So I know. It is all about a catalogue. Good. Good. A catalogue of USD 1,300.0... Hmmm...

    There is the letter... One day, you may get the same, if you also get your own trademark. See also USTMS.

    TMWorld Wide letter, page 1 (see transcript below)

    [Page 1 transcript:]
    [top-left logo:]
    [top-right box:]
    Reference No.: 08/ 138843
    Date: 14 July 2008.
    [top title (large):]
    [1st ...

  • Last update: 10/31/2009
    Return-Path:		<sidratus09@gmail.com>
    X-Original-To:		alexis@halk.m2osw.com
    Delivered-To:		alexis@halk.m2osw.com
    Received:		from mail.m2osw.com (jcolo [])
    			by halk.m2osw.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 54A8F1BF31
    			for <alexis@halk.m2osw.com>; Mon, 15 Sep 2008 10:20:29 -0700 (PDT)
    Received:		from qb-out-1314.google.com (qb-out-1314.google.com [])
    			by mail.m2osw.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 24D9C1B4FC0BC
    			for <alexis@m2osw.com>; Mon, 15 Sep 2008 10:20:28 -0700 (PDT)
    Received:		by qb-out-1314.google.com with SMTP id c5so2909823qbc.2
    			for <
  • Last update: 02/18/2012

    Funny one. This one was supposed to be sent from paypal. Notice that the Return-Path is set to www.paypal.com@m2osw.com, sensical?! Anyway, it was sent to me or maybe some undisclosed recipients. And also, it was sent by "www.paypal.com"<www.paypal.com>

    Return-Path:		<www.paypal.com@m2osw.com>
    X-Original-To:		alexis@halk.m2osw.com
    Delivered-To:		alexis@halk.m2osw.com
    Received:		from mail.m2osw.com (jcolo [])
    			by halk.m2osw.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 03C5E1BDCC
    			for <alexis@halk.m2osw.com>; Wed, 16 Apr 2008 17:04:31 -0700
  • Last update: 10/31/2009

    The following is a scam trying to get your credentials to illegally access your Paypal account.

  • Last update: 02/19/2014

    Usually viruses are included in your email and they are easy to detect (for people such as me at least...) with stuff such as: Open the attached document, that's URGENT, from someone you never ever heard of ever.

    This one, of course, I never heard of the sender either, but the difference here is that the "hacker" is asking you to click on a link which will download an executable (for Windows, again, won't work under my Linux box, do you have a Linux box too? That's already 99% protection against these attacks!)

    Not too sure whether this was effective, but some people ...

  • Last update: 08/23/2009

    This is a funny guy! Two emails (well, actually 4 since he wrote to my two distinct email servers but 1 mailbox each time!) send once after another with the same name in the "From:" field, but completely different bodies. Once he's James and once he's Abba, or she. Who knows now...

    Ha! Another novelty (kinda), this isn't 1 or 2 millions of US dollars... Now we're talking serious money! US $45 millions!!! Cool! I could get myself a swimming pool in my back yard with that (including the staff to take care of it and I'd heat it in the winter too.)

  • Last update: 11/01/2009

    Bonjour... dans la signature. À mourrir de rire! 8-)

  • Last update: 09/27/2013

    Okay... Un autre email avec une Ivoirienne qui ne sait plus comment s'y prendre donc elle me demande à moi, un vrai pro (des scams). Donc, 12.500000 ça représente quoi déjà? Un vrai pro comme moi devrait savoir. En français, le point représente le séparateur des milliers (tous les trois chiffres). Bon... il en manque juste un. Donc c'est bon, c'est bien 12.5 million de dollars. Par contre, dans sa phrase, le "de" devant "dollar" (singulier, hummm!) est de trop.

    Et bien sur, c'est pour.... son avantage ...