Welcome and happy reading!

Since, like anyone else, I receive tons of scam emails and snail mail letters, I decided to present here some of these. All of these (and many more which I just delete) are scams. This means, what the senders have in mind is to racket one of us. And according to what I've seen, they do succeed quite often.

If you have similar letters in your mailbox, either disregard or play with the person knowing that you can't give him (or her) any information about:

  1. Your bank account,
  2. Your address — or any valid address if that matter,
  3. Your family, and
  4. any other information that you judge private or even intimate.

Ha! I say "Your"... even if you don't like your neighbor at all, don't give his information either. The Internet leaves tracks (hackers in the US are being caught one after another!) and you would certainly be in even bigger trouble.

In the meantime, I hope you will enjoy reading these letters as I do myself once in a while. 8-)I do not always add comments with the letters since I usually don't have time to do so, but there would often be a lot of joke to tell!

Soap Bubbles


Latest Scams
  • Last update: 10/31/2009
    Received:	from snap.turnwatcher.com by substitute with [XMail 1.22 ESMTP Server]
    		id <S110B0> for <@mail.m2osw.com:alexis@halk.m2osw.com>
    		from <chenlee060@aim.com>; Thu, 7 Dec 2006 04:08:50 -0800
    Received:	from aim483.com (p57A20481.dip0.t-ipconnect.de [])
    		by snap.turnwatcher.com (Postfix) with SMTP id 5D72926ADCF
    		for <alexis@m2osw.com>; Thu,  7 Dec 2006 04:13:45 -0800 (PST)
    From:		Mr.
  • Last update: 02/18/2012

    Not too sure how to handle that one! I received this email today (Aug 21, 2008) and it says that the EFCC1, a Nigerian body created to catch fraudsters, talked to me before and needs info about a certain guy whose name is not in existance, etc.

    The interesting part is that they used what looks like the EFCC website, links, email addresses... In other words, it looks like it is coming straight from the EFCC. So I'm not too sure why he talks to me as if we had communicated before. I mentioned the EFCC on my Help Me! page...

    So... maybe

    • 1. The EFCC page does not exist anymore.
  • Last update: 07/06/2017

    "Dans l'espoir de vous relire" -- si vous n'êtes pas français vous ne comprendrez pas forcement la subtilité de cette phrase. Mariam me dit qu'il va vérifier mon email (en général, relire veut dire vérifier que tout est bien écrit...)

    Bon, je suis comptant, elle a prié et pouf! j'ai été choisi. Merci le petit bon dieu!

    Ha! Oui, aussi l'email m'est arrivée en 32 exemplaires...

    Received:	from snap.turnwatcher.com by substitute with [XMail 1.22 ESMTP Server]
    		id ...
  • Last update: 10/31/2009

    I was not thinking I'd put too many more scams on my page here, but this one was so badly written that I just couldn't resist! I have no idea what the ? characters were; for sure, these are not supported by my system. Mozilla is saying it's Japanese...

  • Last update: 10/31/2009

    Interesting... these people sent an email with two links one of which does not correspond at all to its label. I suppose most people do not notice these problems before clicking. And as usual, the emails includes URLs to non-secure pages (http instead of https) and the URLs start with numbers (the IP address here was: Finally, that's the wrong URL for access to citibank. He! He! He!

    Also the HTML is quite bad. I left the closing body found at the beginning since I find that quite funny... He! He! He!

  • Last update: 10/31/2009
    From ciaka umaru Thu Sep 6 12:36:29 2007
    X-Apparently-To:	alexis_wilke@yahoo.com via; Thu, 06 Sep 2007 12:41:54 -0700
    X-Originating-IP:	[]
    Return-Path:		<ciaka_umaru17@hotmail.fr>
    Authentication-Results:	mta418.mail.re4.yahoo.com from=hotmail.fr; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
    Received:		from (EHLO bay0-omc2-s26.bay0.hotmail.com) (
    			by mta418.mail.re4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Thu, 06 Sep 2007 12:41:53 -0700
    Received:		from BLU116-W27 ([]) by bay0-omc2-s26.bay0.hotmail.com
    			with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959); Thu, 6 S
  • Last update: 10/31/2009
    X-Apparently-To:		alexis_wilke@yahoo.com via; Fri, 05 Nov 2004 07:01:31 -0800
    X-Originating-IP:		[]
    Return-Path:			<claudinenkoneci@jumpy.it>
    Received:			from (EHLO sc8-sf-mx2.sourceforge.net) (
    				by mta359.mail.scd.yahoo.com with SMTP; Fri, 05 Nov 2004 07:01:31 -0800
    Received:			from outgoing1.jumpy.it ([] helo=mail.jumpy.it)
    				by sc8-sf-mx2.sourceforge.net with esmtp (Exim 4.41)
    				id 1CQ5ai-0002iR-Bi; Fri, 05 Nov 2004 07:01:31 -0800
    Received:			from [] by mail.jumpy.it with HTTP; Fri
  • Last update: 11/24/2014

    I wanted to put a warning out in regard to these OEM Software people because recently they improved their websites. It looks really nice. That is, really professional. I could very well understand that some people would fall for it.

    Do not forget to read my Help Page in how to determine that a company is fake. And if they do put a street address, make sure it's in your country. Whether or not it is, just be really sure that this is really a legal business (even so, some legal business are doing illegal sales...)

    Received:		from snap.turnwatcher.com
    			by substitute with [XMail 1.22 ...
  • Last update: 07/06/2017

    I have see a lot of toll free numbers, but one that starts with 334 does not really sound free to me. What seems surprising is that this looks like an American phone number; Albama to be precise. (see Wikipedia for more info) I'm not too sure what the intend is here. Go to jail? Or would the number redirect to another number? Or that's the number of a stolen cell phone maybe.

    Return-Path:		<online@colonialbank.com>
    X-Original-To:		alexis@halk.m2osw.com
    Delivered-To:		alexis@halk.m2osw.com
    Received:		from mail.m2osw.com (jcolo [])
    			by halk.m2osw.com ...
  • Last update: 10/31/2009

    Here the real link was: <a href="http://www.creval-bci.com/login2007/index.html"> The correct URL is simply http://www.creval.it.

    Another interesting tag was the BASE that was broken in half:
    ta%20eliminata/Attenzione!%20Comunicazione%20Urgente.EML/" />